On caregivers, faith, family, and writing…

seniors laughing 2 041712Younger generations seem to think that senior citizens are decades behind when it comes to technology. There is at least one gentleman at the Senior Center who would prove how wrong that assumption is. He is in his early 80s and sometimes tools up in a Model-T that is almost as old as he is. He has a much newer car, but he says the ladies like the old one. If someone wants proof of what he says, he has pictures on his iPad and his iPhone to prove it, and he can Google with the best of them.

However, while many of our friends at the Center have smart phones, ereaders, and laptops, I have to admit that they run into difficultiesComputer files from time to time. Everyone has discovered that David is very tech savvy, so he has become the go-to guy when problems arise. Although the following stories didn’t come from him, he has had similar experiences when helping out a technology novice.

Customer:   I can’t get on the Internet.
Tech support:   Are you sure you used the right password?
Customer: 
  Yes, I’m sure. I saw my friend do it.
Tech support:    Can you tell me what the password was?
Customer:   Five dots.

****************************

Customer:     I have a huge problem. A friend has placed a screen saver on my computer, but every time I move the mouse, it disappears.

****************************
Tech support: 
   How may I help you?
Customer:   I’m writing my first email, and I need help.
Tech support:    OK, and what seems to be the problem?
Customer:   Well, I have the letter ‘a’ in the address, but how do I get the little circle around it?

****************************
Customer:    Hi, this is Martha. I can’t print.

Tech Support: Hi, Martha. Tell me what happening.

Customer: Every time I try, it says ‘Can’t find  printer’.  I’ve even lifted the printer and placed it in front of the monitor, but the computer still says he can’t find it.

 

Blessings,

Linda

Comments on: "Senior Humor – Edition 23 – Computer Problems | by Linda Brendle" (6)

  1. MRS N, the Author said:

    That’s hysterical! 🙂

  2. Cute : ) My mother in law is in almost 80, and she is a master of the Internet. So fun for her granddaughters to keep up with her via Facebook. They don’t live near one another so it’s a great way to share photos.

    • My 90-year-old aunt is the same way. Unfortunately, when I bought a computer for Mom and Dad, Mom was deathly afraid to touch it and Dad was too far into his dementia to remember or re-learn how to use one.
      Blessings,
      Linda

  3. There are two beautiful computers with wifi at mom’s rehab and the looks on the faces of the families trying to help their loved ones use them are priceless! Fun, fun, fun!

    • Absolutely! I love it when seniors still want to learn and when their loved ones will take the time to try and teach them.
      Blessings,
      Linda

Leave a comment